Annual Brewers Golf Day is a success once again!

September 22nd, 2017

On Thursday 7th September, 113 customers arrived at the Bedford Golf Club for the Annual Brewers Golf Day, organised by Bedford Branch Manager William Stone.

The annual event raises money the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) at the Luton and Dunstable Hospital, specialising in the care of ill or premature newborn babies. This year Brewers have added another deserving charity to receive monies raised from the Annual Brewers Golf Day 4Louis – a charity that aims to supply hospitals free of charge memory boxes to be given to bereaved parents who suffer the trauma of stillbirth or neonatal death.

Total money raised is £2010.00 to be split equally between both NICU and 4Louis. Over the last 3 years we have raised £4685.00 for the NICU.


0-9 Handicap Category – Lee Hubbard (Decor and Floors) with 38 points

10-18 Handicap Category – Andy Pearson (AP Decorating Service & Chelbridge) with 38 points

19-28 Handicap Category – Paul Radley (Focus Decorating) with 41 points (2 years running)

Each year Purdy donate a prize awarded to the lowest score which this year was awarded to Colin Giddings with 9 points

Team prize – Martin Shepherd, Tony Storey, Darren Davidson and our very own Northampton Branch Manager Stuart Bell with 37 points

Nearest the pin on all the par three’s

- Scott Varden (Seagrave) won the 4th and 17th

- Gary McGovern won the 8th

- Mark Burgin (Purdy Commercial Director) won the 9th

- Roger Hart won the 15th

Nearest the pin in two – Steve Williams won the 18th

Longest Drive Competition – Julia Pickersgill (1 of only 2 women out on the golf course!)

A special thanks to the event supporters Dulux, Purdy, Tor Coating, Tesa Tapes, Thermoguard and Bradite!

Team Prize winners Martin Shepherd, Tony Storey, Darren Davidson and Stuart Bell

Longest Drive Competition winner Julia Pickersgill

Bedford branch team - Will Stone, Kevin Hill, Andy Mugglestone, Stuart Bell, Karen Larr, Tara Heritage, Harry Stone, John Raper

19-28 Handicap Category winner Paul Radley